ECL Rules

These rules are an extension of the general rules of other Blitzkrieg tournaments. Read the Blitzkrieg rules here.

Format

Each team plays each other over the course of the league season at least once. There will be 3 matches per week, with an outlook to up this to 4 matches during some weeks (notice will be given to teams if required to play an extra match during any week). Once each team has played each other once, the top 4 teams of each group standings will enter into a double-elimination playoff bracket. Each week will have a pre-determined map as set out by the league admins.

Tie Breaker

If by the end of the regular season there are any teams tied for a position in the playoffs, the standings will be decided in the following order;

a) Overall round difference
b) Head-to-head between the tied teams
c) Round difference between the tied teams
d) Tiebreaker match between the tied teams

Scheduling

Team captains are entrusted with the responsibility to schedule their matches with other team captains. The default scheduling time is 7PM BST every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday for matches 1, 2 and 3 respectively. Teams can apply for an exception such as if a player has another commitment on a set day each week, however exceptions are granted on a case-by-case basis. It is at the sole discretion of a league admin on whether your team is granted an exception or not. Teams are encouraged to notify admins of confirmed match times if matches are rescheduled.

Featured Matches

Each week there will be up to 6 featured matches on the official Twitch channel of The Plays. Team captains will be notified if they are participating in a featured match for the coming week and this time is not flexible. Featured match times are as follows;

Featured Match 1: Tuesdays 7PM BST / 8PM CEST
Featured Match 2: Tuesdays 8PM BST /9PM CEST
Featured Match 3: Wednesdays 7PM BST / 8PM CEST
Featured Match 4: Wednesdays 8PM BST /9PM CEST
Featured Match 3: Thursdays 7PM BST / 8PM CEST
Featured Match 4: Thursdays 8PM BST /9PM CEST

Teams who are participating in featured matches should be on the provided match server 10 minute before the scheduled start time.

Roster Locks

In an effort to promote commitment from players and teams, and to encourage consistency, rosters will periodically lock. Teams may request an exception to the roster lock rule, but this will be provided on a case-by-case basis.

Rosters Lock: Monday 7th May

No date has been set for the next unlocking of rosters.